Inspiration for childless and childfree women

Thoughts and ideas to inspire, uplift and affirm the childless and childfree, by circumstance and by choice

a little ode to breakfast

Oh, breakfast.

Whether you are tea and toast in bed with a book
on a rainy morning,

Or laid out in a hotel dining room like a banquet fit for queens and kings…

Whether you are something hearty cooked by a shirtless someone
after a very good night,

Or coffee and a croissant enjoyed alone in a tiny French café…

Whether you are prepared in the wilderness and served
on a tin plate beside the campfire,

Or a welcome sight on a tray with funny little compartments
trundling down the aisle of an aeroplane…

On behalf of non-mothers everywhere, can I just say –

Thank you.

– – –

If you would like to celebrate a few more of the lesser-known pleasures of non-motherhood, you might enjoy this post about deep sleep or this post about travel.

But in the meantime, how about you? Tell me I’m not alone in thinking that if I ever had to explain what is beautiful about non-motherhood in one word, ‘breakfast’ might just be it?

[The beautiful image above is borrowed with permission from Yataro.]

5 comments on “a little ode to breakfast

  1. Dienna
    April 8, 2012

    Amen to not having other mouths to feed but our own!

    • olivia
      April 9, 2012

      And to feeding them things other than cereal (unless you happen to really love cereal…) 🙂

  2. tiffanylo
    April 11, 2012

    Loved this, and I can so relate… Breakfast has always been a very important, very solitary thing for me as part of my daily ritual during the work week. I really cannot fathom having to feed a child as part of my routine…
    I also greatly appreciate dinnertime, when I can eat and relax with my husband over some wine (and beer for him!) and a Mad Men episode! 😉

  3. olivia
    April 12, 2012

    Tiffany, both ends of your day sound heavenly to me!

  4. seattle
    September 21, 2012

    Breakfast and I have a very passionate relationship. It treats me so well. Every day I return the favor and give it my undivided attention – the quiet and peaceful moments it deserves on my patio before the sun brings the noise of the day – or the hustly bustly excitement and thrill of enjoying our time running through the city crosswalks together and leaping through steam columns from man holes in the street. It’s love. Anywhere it happens. Sometimes even late at night when nothing sounds quite right… it’s always magical.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2012 by in peace and quiet and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow on twitter

Contact

readinginthebath (at) gmail (dot) com
