Inspiration for childless and childfree women

Thoughts and ideas to inspire, uplift and affirm the childless and childfree, by circumstance and by choice

one month old!

At risk of sounding as though I’ve changed my mind about something important, today marks one month since the creation of something that is dear to my heart. I certainly can’t claim any huge success as a blogger but in my first month at readinginthebath.com I’ve met a personal goal of making at least one post each day. And for my efforts, the world (by which I mean you, my lovely reader!) has met me much further than halfway, with between 200-600 views each day after the first week, 28 followers as of today, and a very welcome scattering of comments (once I got brave enough to open them).

I’ve written before about the importance of childless and childfree women celebrating milestonesΒ (even quite small ones like this)Β so today I took myself and a friend out for something that Gunther believed was essential …

Congratulations readinginthebath.com. We’re one month old!

[The gorgeous image above appears with permission from Sweet William]

24 comments on “one month old!

  1. Nell
    March 29, 2012

    I raise my morning brew of coffee! Here’s looking forward to more beautiful posts and the continued success of this blog xxxx

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you lovely Nell πŸ™‚

  2. Heidi
    March 29, 2012

    Congrats on your success!

    The leisurely breakfast is one of the true mega bonuses of the childfree by choice lifestyle. Whether at home or a gorgeous lil’ cafe with some reading material, good coffee, good food and great company = leisurely breakfast = bliss!

    Keep up the great work!
    πŸ™‚

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Heidi, isn’t it?? For me, leisurely breakfasts tie with reading in the bath as a couple of the most serious perks πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for your support and encouragement x

  3. dinkschildfree
    March 29, 2012

    WOW! I have been blogging for about 2 months and barely get one person to look at my blog! Congrats to you!!! You are definitely doing something right! I enjoy all your posts! Keep it up! πŸ™‚

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Well dinkschildfree, I am definitely one of the faithful readers of your blog! Thank you so much for your kind words πŸ™‚ x

  4. Tory
    March 29, 2012

    Happy one month! I just found your blog yesterday but am so glad I did. Thank you for posting!

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you, Tory! I’m so glad you stopped by πŸ™‚

  5. HGavin
    March 29, 2012

    Congratulations on your blog. Thanks for all the beautiful writing you do. I’m childfree not by choice, but I’m enjoying this decision so far. Some days more than others, but when it comes to eating, I have no doubts about it.

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thanks, HGavin. What a lovely comment to find! Maybe the chance to enjoy food slowly and in peace might be one of the almost indisputable perks of non-parenthood, however we arrive here. It’s great to meet you πŸ™‚

  6. Angie
    March 29, 2012

    Congratulations! I am also a big fan of the leisurely breakfast. I only get it on weekends and when I’m on vacation, but I savor every bite on those days.

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Angie, maybe it wouldn’t be so heavenly if we had it everyday? Maybe…

      And thank you! x

  7. Kaitlyn
    March 29, 2012

    Congrats πŸ™‚

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you Kaitlyn πŸ™‚

  8. Maybe Lady Liz
    March 29, 2012

    Congrats on your anniversary, Olivia! You are putting the rest of us bloggers to shame with having such great thing going in such a short period of time!!

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you, Maybe Lady Liz! I’m one of the big fans of your blog though, so no shame please! πŸ™‚

  9. Megan
    March 29, 2012

    Congratulations, Olivia! In one quick month, you’ve made a big impression; I look forward to each new post. Also totally agreed on the leisurely breakfasts. I adore a nice strong cup (or two) of coffee and the chance to read the New York Times, which arrives at my doorstep every morning but only gets read in full on weekends or holidays…

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you so much, lovely Megan! I’m hoping to make it to the US for the first time later this year and I have a happy daydream about unfolding the New York Times over breakfast there. I love that you get to do it every weekend! x

  10. CiCi
    March 29, 2012

    Such great success in just one month’s time. Imagine what a year will bring! YEA! Connecting all of us on this journey, what a gift!

    • olivia
      March 29, 2012

      Thank you Cici – such an exciting thought! I see a new post has just popped on your site so I’m off to have a look πŸ™‚

  11. sam
    March 30, 2012

    Yay !! well done Olivia. It makes my day to read your wonderful, well written and intelligent blog — Lifts my spirits everyday!

    Sam

    • olivia
      March 30, 2012

      That is so gorgeous to hear, Sam! Thank you!! πŸ™‚

  12. SparklingRain
    March 31, 2012

    Thank you for putting so much effort and energy to build this wonderful site πŸ™‚
    I only found you a week or so ago, and can’t stop reading your posts and gawking at the beautiful pics. I am trying to make peace with the possibility of not being able to have children – I have been to other sites and forums that discuss the childfree/childless topics, but sometimes they are too depressing for me.
    Browsing your site, on the contrary, has always left me feeling peaceful.

    • olivia
      March 31, 2012

      I enjoy every single minute of working on the site, SparklingRain, but it feels especially worthwhile when I receive lovely, inspiring feedback like this. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Sending you my very warmest wishes for your time of peace-making.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2012 by in creativity and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow on twitter

Contact

readinginthebath (at) gmail (dot) com
