Inspiration for childless and childfree women

Thoughts and ideas to inspire, uplift and affirm the childless and childfree, by circumstance and by choice

milestones

Milestones were once real stones placed at intervals along a road so that travellers could gain a sense of how far through their journeys they had come, as well as feeling reassured that they were still on the right path. Now the term is more often used to describe events in our lives that we can use in the same way, to mark and guide progress. It’s a beautiful expression, I think.

Although there are some significant milestones that we celebrate as a society, if we rely on the world around us to acknowledge the accomplishments, changes, windfalls and losses in our lives, many important moments will be allowed to slip through the cracks. Like those old travellers, we will be at risk of losing our way. I think it might be especially important for childless and childfree women to be aware of this possibility, since our own most important moments are not always acknowledged or celebrated.

Susan B. Anthony, one of the childless/childfree women on the pinterest board I have been compiling, has advised that:

“Sooner or later we all discover that the important moments in life are not the advertised ones, not the birthdays, the graduations, the weddings, not the great goals achieved. The real milestones are less prepossessing. They come to the door of memory unannounced, stray dogs that amble in, sniff around a bit and simply never leave. Our lives are measured by these.”

Anthony was an active opponent of slavery and a proponent of women’s rights in the nineteenth century. Whether or not they were prepossessing, I have the feeling her own ‘real milestones’ were probably pretty remarkable events. She and Amelia Bloomer travelled all over America together, teaching, lecturing and promoting the feminist cause, journeys that were instrumental in gaining suffrage for women.

I particularly like the story that at the age of sixteen (sixteen!) she went against a gag law and collected two boxes of petitions opposing slavery.  I would love to think that before she submitted them, she paused and somehow marked that early milestone in what would prove to be a truly extraordinary life.

If you’re interested in ways to enjoy childless or childfree life a little more, you might also enjoy reading about the importance of getting behind our own decisions and having the confidence to run with some wilder ideas.

But in the meantime, what about you? Are you a believer in marking milestones?

7 comments on “milestones

  1. lifeandfriendship
    March 14, 2012

    Wow! What a great post. I know I too often let these times roll by without fanfare. Makes me think twice about it. Thank you for pointing this out so eloquently.

    • olivia
      March 14, 2012

      Thank you, lifeandfriendship. Lovely to ‘meet’ you!

  2. Angie
    March 14, 2012

    I am a big believer in marking milestones, large and small. My husband and I really celebrate birthdays and anniversaries, usually with travel, or at the very least a lavish meal. I do, however, agree with Ms. Anthony (one of my idols), that it’s the smaller things that will mean more to us at some point. It’s just a shame that we often don’t appreciate those smaller moments until they are long past.

    • olivia
      March 14, 2012

      They sound absolutely perfect ways to celebrate, Angie. Maybe some of the smaller moments have to be commemorated in retrospect, because it isn’t always clear at the time that they are significant. And hey, any excuse for a little extra travel or a lavish meal, right? 🙂

  3. Margaret
    March 14, 2012

    As a childfree woman who is passionate about travel, I tend to mark milestones by how many new stamps in a year I have in my passport. There are other milestones, certainly, but my passport is my favorite. (I haven’t made it to Australia yet – hopefully in the next few years!) I also wanted to add that this blog is amazing and I am so glad you are contributing to the childfree conversation – I can’t wait to read more! You have already expressed so many things that I have thought myself from time to time, but can’t state as well. Keep it up!

    • olivia
      March 14, 2012

      I feel I know just what you mean, Margaret, about the passport. Each stamp is a little rite of passage in itself. What a gorgeous example!

      Thank you for your lovely feedback on the blog. So encouraging 🙂

  4. arvndjl@gmail.com
    March 20, 2014

    I’m obliged for that article.Many thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in adventure and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow on twitter

Contact

readinginthebath (at) gmail (dot) com
